Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  d2_s : (02 October 2017 - 04:10 PM) Somy is releasing an updated PSVR headset with improved processing unit and HDR pass-through. Unfortunately, no HDR pass-through solution for early adopters and the new processing box is no compatible with the original PSVR unit. A dick move if you ask me. I'd use my PSVR alot more if it wasn for this.
@  Brandino : (17 October 2017 - 02:27 AM) Just wanted to post that I'm still alive lol...
@  Goldenheart : (21 October 2017 - 01:36 PM) sorry for the double post earlier. Didn't realize it.
@  d2_s : (28 October 2017 - 06:04 AM) How’s everyone? What are you playing? I have been enjoying Piranha Bytes latest creation Elex. A little rough around the edges, but really enjoyable.
@  ermac666 : (28 October 2017 - 09:03 PM) This month has been packed with games. Hard time deciding to allocate my time playing GT sports, assassins creed origins (love the egypt setting), evil within 2 and the fast paced wolfenstein 2.
@  colonel_j2020 : (31 October 2017 - 04:32 PM) I have been playing Destiny 2 on PC.  It is my first taste of Destiny.  I am enjoying it so far but I haven't hit that grind stage yet or run out of content.
@  TonyDP : (01 November 2017 - 07:19 PM) Hi all. Got all three of my guardians on Destiny 2 to Power Level 305 so I think I'm going to put that down for a while. Beyond that, been playing a lot of PSVR: Megaton Rainfall, Raw Data; Doom VFR and Skyrim VR are right around the corner and looking really good.
@  d2_s : (03 November 2017 - 03:42 AM) Must say that Skyrim VR looks awesome.  It has come a long way and i’ll have to pick iy up.
@  TonyDP : (05 November 2017 - 08:31 PM) Yeah the recent Skyrim VR videos have me stoked. Obviously the resolution inside the headset will be lower but the immersion should more than make up for it. Videos to Doom VFR looked sick as well.
@  kyle_5_16 : (07 November 2017 - 03:06 PM) Alright, who got the Xbox One X?
@  TonyDP : (07 November 2017 - 10:30 PM) As an Xbox One S owner, right now I see no compelling reason to get an Xbox One X. I don't have a 4K TV and I don't have any desire to replay a bunch of games I've already beaten just for the sake of some prettier graphics. If MS ever releases a VR headset or does something innovative beyond just pushing more pixels in existing games then I'll take a look. If my "S" kicks the bucket, I'll take a look. But right now I really don't need one.
@  TonyDP : (08 November 2017 - 02:56 PM) Annnnnnnnnd ... I bought one. Dear God, I wish I had some self control.
@  ermac666 : (10 November 2017 - 08:14 PM) I won't be getting one anytime soon. It's exclusives are also on PCs and the multiplats from what I have seen from comparisons are not that much better than on the pro in terms of frame rate aside from holding a higher resolutions.
@  ermac666 : (10 November 2017 - 08:23 PM) I will get one once the games fully take advantage of it ,a nd the gulf between it and the pro becomes bigger. Right now, I don't see any reason to get the One X for me.
@  TonyDP : (11 November 2017 - 03:59 PM) I don't do PC gaming so it's easier for me to justify having the best MS and Sony consoles I can get. FWIW, even with a 1080p TV I can still easily see improvements in games. Tomb Raider now has 60fps all the time; Forza Horizon 3 has nice reflections in the cars that didn't show up on my Xbox One S, etc. Once I get a 4K TV I'm sure the visual upgrades will be even more pronounced.
@  kyle_5_16 : (13 November 2017 - 12:28 AM) lol @TonyDP your first two responses are hilarious read back to back. Didn't take you long at all to come around to it
@  TonyDP : (13 November 2017 - 05:09 PM) Like I said, I have no willpower. Still, the X1X is nice; I was playing some Hitman on it yesterday and the graphical effects were in a completely new league.
@  d2_s : (14 November 2017 - 04:47 AM) I have no regrets getting the X, it’s a fantastic system. Light on exclusives for sure, but a nice replacement for the S and was pleasantly surprised to see some 360 games getting a Faux-K makeover. Fallout 3 and Mirrors Edge look like new games running on the S.
@  d2_s : (14 November 2017 - 04:48 AM) Running on the X I meant :)
@  TonyDP : (14 November 2017 - 05:08 PM) Fallout 3 looks and runs really nicely on the X1X

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,490 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!