Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  TonyDP : (15 April 2015 - 09:10 PM) No problems d2; I haven't been doing much with Destiny lately other than the weekly strikes and checking in on Fridays to see what Xur sells (I hope you were able to at least score the Suros Regime last week).
@  TonyDP : (15 April 2015 - 09:11 PM) Weekly heroic strikes that is. Hope you get back online soon.
@  d2_s : (18 April 2015 - 04:18 AM) Hey Tony, I did score the Suros on PSN. On Xbox I already have all the exotic weapons bar the Necrocasm so Im good there thankfully.
@  TonyDP : (18 April 2015 - 08:11 PM) d2, I think you need to do the Crota raid on hard until you score a Crux of Crota drop; very rare from what I've read. I picked up The Last Word yesterday and have been buffing that one one. Nice hand cannon; should come in handy for PvP exotic bounties.
@  d2_s : (18 April 2015 - 10:57 PM) Hi Tony, yes you are correct. I do the hard raid 3 times per week and funnily enough the crux just dropped for me 5 minutes ago so i now have all the weapons until HoW is out that is :)
@  d2_s : (18 April 2015 - 11:04 PM) Shoukd mention i have all VoG raid weapons and all Crota raid weapons bar ty black hammer, whcih simply does not want to drop for me.
@  TonyDP : (19 April 2015 - 06:58 PM) Been reading that HoW will let you upgrade your legendaries as well as exotics so make sure you hold onto any legendaries you like
@  d2_s : (24 April 2015 - 11:47 PM) Finally got that Black Hammer so it's official, I have all raid and exotic weapons in Destiny. Also got the 1000 gamerscore a few weeks back. So I'm good until HoW.
@  KaliniuS : (26 April 2015 - 07:57 PM) CoD:BO3 looks so much like Titanfall, it's kind of embarrassing.
@  KaliniuS : (26 April 2015 - 07:57 PM) Like they're not even trying to be unique.
@  SpaceInsomniac : (27 April 2015 - 01:11 AM) Some of it is certainly new for a COD, such as character classes.  I'll almost certainly pre-order for the beta and judge for myself.  If I don't like it, I'll cancel.
@  KaliniuS : (28 April 2015 - 08:05 PM) I've been on a drinking binge since Silent Hills was cancelled... it was my #1 most anticipated game. So disappointed...
@  Brandino : (28 April 2015 - 10:13 PM) So Konami isn't doing so hot these days... I wonder if Capcom or Microsoft will buy them out
@  KaliniuS : (29 April 2015 - 11:35 AM) Capcom is also not doing so well financially
@  ermac666 : (30 April 2015 - 05:08 AM) MGS 5 the phantom pain will probably be my last konami game. I have read about how konami mismanaged their staff and how little they cared for their fans. They have let castlevania die without caring, they messed up the silent hill franchise, and now they canned silent hills.  Even MGS's future after mgs 5 is uncertain.
@  HumpYourWayT... : (30 April 2015 - 09:12 AM) I really would like to know what happened between Kojima and Konmai?!?
@  HumpYourWayT... : (30 April 2015 - 09:13 AM) Also I would like to know what happened between David Lynch and Showtime (Twin Peaks)?!?!?!
@  HumpYourWayT... : (30 April 2015 - 09:14 AM) And most of all I would like to know what happened between d2_s and Destiny? I kid, I kid :-D
@  SpaceInsomniac : (01 May 2015 - 08:10 PM) You Tube embed seems to not be working anymore.  I wonder if that means we can finally post a video link in the shoutbox without it posting the entire video...  https://youtu.be/5GBbmT06ttc
@  SpaceInsomniac : (01 May 2015 - 08:11 PM) Yep.  And yes, I'd like to know what happened with both of those things as well, Hump.

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,357 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.
Posted Image

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!