Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  d2_s : (31 August 2016 - 12:59 AM) @Ermac Found someone selling KoF on Ebay for $60, just haggling with him to see how much lower he'll let it go for. Did the same thing with Dues Ex and ended uo getting it for $30 cheaper than RRP :)
@  colonel_j2020 : (05 September 2016 - 09:06 AM) I have finished Deus Ex Mankind Divided.  Overall it is an enjoyable game in regards to gameplay.  I do miss the multiple locations of Human Revolution.  Only other complaint would be the story end was super abrupt. I suspect the story might come to a conclusion in the DLC which is a bit of a dick move if you ask me.
@  colonel_j2020 : (05 September 2016 - 09:08 AM) It was still great to play but I would suggest human revolution if you haven't played a deus ex game yet.  Not saying Mankind Divided is bad but I feel it could have been better.
@  d2_s : (07 September 2016 - 05:37 PM) Have to say PS4 Pro and PS4 slim are seriously ugly pieces of hardware. On the plus side PS4 Pro is more than twice the power of PS4 for the price of an X1s and out this November. Can't argue with that :)
@  ermac666 : (07 September 2016 - 09:14 PM) HDR support will be patched into all ps4 consoles. I do agree that the design could have been better on the pro, but at least it looks symmetrical and even compared to the even uglier slim model
@  d2_s : (07 September 2016 - 09:50 PM) Oh I agree, the slim is horrendous. That being said i'll be grabbing a pro day one to go with my psvr. The price point of the pro is spot on if you ask me.
@  Brandino : (10 September 2016 - 12:16 AM) Check out the tv thread I just updated... i need some assistance!
@  TonyDP : (11 September 2016 - 07:08 PM) I sold off my Xbox 360 and PS3 today along with all my 360/PS3 games. The one exception was CoD: Black Ops for the 360, which I kept because it was backwardly compatible and supported 3D. I decided to try it out on the Xbox One and it looked absolutely amazing and the 3D seemed to my eyes to be even sharper than it was on the original 360 (maybe it's the Xbox One scaler). Really sad that 3D has been almost completely ignored by this generation's consoles as it really heightened the intestity of the firefights in Black Ops.
@  d2_s : (11 September 2016 - 08:00 PM) I did the same thing as you earlier this year. I got rid of Wii-U, PS3 and 360. I ended up giving most of them away to friends and family and selling the rest. I got rid of my retro stuff years ago so now I basically just have PC, xbone, ps4 & vita. I've gone from one extreme to the other over the years from 'must buy everything' in my younger days to just wanting games i consider essential. Fast Internet will actually be available in my area soon so now going. ost
@  d2_s : (11 September 2016 - 08:02 PM) mostly digital will be viable for me. And lets face it (despite the cheaper prices) it's very rare that a physical disk gives you a complete game anymore.
@  TonyDP : (13 September 2016 - 07:57 PM) I'm liking digital downloading more and more but my internet currently caps out at 25 megabits/second and upgrading to the next tier (75mbit/s) is still a little too expensive to justify for what is essentiall a "hobby". That's what has kept me from going 100% digital.
@  Brandino : (14 September 2016 - 08:55 PM) After moving to a new house... I appreciate the fact that I have mostly digital downloads... i have no place for movies/games on any shelves and they used to be a big pain to move around and keep
@  Brandino : (14 September 2016 - 08:56 PM) I preordered Gears of War 4... i am anxious to play it and I hope they are still giving away the other games as part of the pre order bonus
@  d2_s : (15 September 2016 - 01:20 AM) I'm finding it hard to get excited about Gears 4, maybe i'll change my tune as it gets closer. Horizon 3 on the otherhand - despite its tiny map - is my #1 most anticipated Xbone game this year.
@  d2_s : (15 September 2016 - 01:26 AM) Main things I am looking forward to this year: PSVR, PS4 Pro and an SUHD display.
@  d2_s : (20 September 2016 - 05:59 AM) Bungie seriously screwed  up the RoI launch. Under prepared for the load on their servers and hundreds of thousands of players cant get in.
@  TonyDP : (21 September 2016 - 08:26 PM) The servers were pretty much back to normal a few hours after the expansion dropped. I still play the game as I have a few friends who play all the time so it makes most of the content accessible. By the time I got home from work I was able to log in easily although I have been kicked out a few times over the past couple of days.
@  ermac666 : (23 September 2016 - 11:48 PM) I take back what I said about the ps4 slim. I saw it in person at a store, and I am surprised at how sleek and slim it looks. The early vids, pics didn't do it justice. I am sure the more symmetrical neo would look nice as well. Looking forward to it
@  ermac666 : (23 September 2016 - 11:49 PM) ps4 pro I meant
@  d2_s : (27 September 2016 - 11:53 PM) @Tony Late reply. I still play Destiny too. Couldn't get in on xbox or PSN until the next day.  Not a major hardship by any means, but I had never seen that before with Destiny even for the launch of TTK. I was 120k-160k in the queue on boty systems. I decided I could wait. Pretty bad big underestimation on their part i thought. 1st world problems :)

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!