Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  KaliniuS : (14 November 2014 - 08:40 PM) "Back in my day, I played all games offline. There were no updates or DLC... now get off my lawn!"
@  SpaceInsomniac : (15 November 2014 - 05:22 AM) Mandatory stealth missions with instant fail states?  Well, thanks Ubisoft for helping me make up my mind.  I might have bought the game once it hit 20 dollars or whatever, but now I'll just be ignoring it altogether.
@  d2_s : (15 November 2014 - 11:35 PM) Those missions are archaic and tedious. Throw in mandatory chase missions with your character getting caught up on everything in the game  environment and you get a game with many frustrating moments
@  KaliniuS : (16 November 2014 - 03:11 PM) Finally got everything resolved with my ISP. Now I get 200 Mbps download and 20 Mbps upload speeds! I can stream on Twitch without it being super blocky.
@  SpaceInsomniac : (16 November 2014 - 06:10 PM) Glad to hear it, Kal.
@  d2_s : (16 November 2014 - 06:14 PM) Super jealous Kal. Your upload is faster than my download! I'd actually stream to Twitch alot if it weren't for my upload speeds being less tha 1mbps lol
@  KaliniuS : (16 November 2014 - 06:52 PM) I'm going to try to stream on Twitch when I get my Xbox One back form repair. I estimate it'll come back on Monday, the 24th which also happens to be the day the newest Killer Instinct character becomes available. Yay!
@  KaliniuS : (20 November 2014 - 11:38 AM) Because I like being different, I traded in my old iPhone 4 for a brand new Nokia Lumia Icon. Some things I love about it. Other things are super annoying. Still, it's cool to have my phone look like my Xbox One lol
@  AKA Superman : (20 November 2014 - 02:07 PM) I just bought myself a OnePlus One phone...I'm VERY impressed with it and, for $350, it surpasses the $800 Note 4 in several benchmarks and tests.
@  DEEZNUTZ : (20 November 2014 - 07:22 PM) Hey dropping in to say what's up to the remaining active forum members!!!
@  SpaceInsomniac : (20 November 2014 - 08:17 PM) I remember you!  Howdy, stranger. :)
@  DEEZNUTZ : (21 November 2014 - 11:12 AM) Hey. Nice to know there are still some of you on here. Always was my favorite forum!!!
@  AKA Superman : (21 November 2014 - 11:48 AM) There are only about 12-15 of us still active on here regularly, but still a good group. Be sure to stick around! :)
@  KaliniuS : (21 November 2014 - 11:50 AM) What's up, Mr Nutz? Nice to se you around.
@  colonel_j2020 : (21 November 2014 - 05:35 PM) DEEZ!  I remember you!  Hooray!
@  d2_s : (21 November 2014 - 07:56 PM) haha DEEZ, how could we forget you? I don't think there's a former regular I've forgotten :)
@  ermac666 : (22 November 2014 - 02:13 AM) Haha, late to the party, but I am finally a next gen or rather a current gen console owner. I got myself a white ps4.
@  ermac666 : (22 November 2014 - 02:15 AM) I only have infamous second son. I might get far cry 4 next week...
@  AKA Superman : (23 November 2014 - 10:08 AM) FC4 is definitely a game that should keep you busy for awhile...it has me. It is the closest thing to "Skyrim with Guns" that I've ever played. I've already played for over 10hrs and have only completed 2 story missions.
@  colonel_j2020 : (23 November 2014 - 07:40 PM) I want to play Far Cry 4 but I have WoW expansion(I usually play each xpac for a few months until I get bored and it turns into a grind fest), Valkyria Chronicles for PC, and Dragon Age.

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.
Posted Image

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!