Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  ermac666 : (03 December 2016 - 01:47 PM) I am watching the playstation experience event right now. Wow, A new marvel vs capcom game has been announced. Marvel vs capcom infinite is the name. Seems to be ps4 exclusive
@  ermac666 : (03 December 2016 - 01:48 PM) Oh wait, PC and XB1 will get get the new marvel vs capcom infinite too.
@  ermac666 : (07 December 2016 - 05:10 AM) Gran turismo sport on ps4 has undergone a lot of graphical upgrades since I last saw it. The new gameplay footage on GTPlanet youtube channel is looking spectacular! Go check them out.
@  ermac666 : (07 December 2016 - 05:11 AM) https://www.youtube....GTPlanet/videos
@  TonyDP : (07 December 2016 - 08:52 PM) I've never been able to get into the GT games. I know they're billed as a driving simulator but I've always found them too bland and clinical to hold my interest. GT3 on the PS3, the last one I played, also had one of the worst menu systems I've ever seen.
@  ermac666 : (07 December 2016 - 11:04 PM) The menu systems are much improved since GT6. GT6's menu was very accessible and stream-lined. I do like the GT games better than forza, but forza has been stepping it up for the past few games.  GT sports is looking great so far
@  d2_s : (08 December 2016 - 08:09 PM) GT3 is possibly my favourite racing game of all time. Can't remember much if its menu system, but it couldn't have been worse than GT5's at launch - that menu system was terrible. Turn 10 certainly know how to deliver quality games on time, but for my money GT games have always felt better on the track and looked better. GT Sport looks to be carrying on that tradition on the visual side, it has undergone an incredible transformation since the last time I saw it. It's gone from looking medicore to possibly the most gorgeous looking racer I have ever seen. Here's hoping by the the time GT7 comes out, Polyphony figure out how to put into a cohesive and compelling package.
@  Brandino : (10 December 2016 - 03:04 AM) I stopped playing Gran Turismo games because the AI ran the same lines and they seemed so lifeless.   For me Gran Turismo has been left in the dust since the PS2 days...
@  d2_s : (10 December 2016 - 06:17 AM) Well, the PS2 days were a long time ago and if you take a real look at present competing products, they really aren't that much better IMHO.
@  ermac666 : (10 December 2016 - 06:45 AM) I always thought that the gran turismo games especially GT5/6 presented the sense of speed a lot better than forza. When the car moves really fast, you can hear the  wind sound effects and the car shaking . It feels so good. Not saying that forza doesn't have a sense of speed, but I like it a lot better than forza. I have always liked that aspect from the recent games. I also liked the GT replays a lot better.
@  Goldenheart : (11 December 2016 - 12:33 AM) Just saw Transformers: 30th Anniv. is now available on Blu-Ray! Sweet!
@  Goldenheart : (27 December 2016 - 04:47 AM) I hope everyone had a merry Christmas!  8)
@  Brandino : (28 December 2016 - 11:51 AM) Did anyone get any good games for x-mas?
@  TonyDP : (28 December 2016 - 09:37 PM) I got Recore ($20), Forza Horizon 3 ($30) and Star Wars Battlefront Ultimate Edition ($30).
@  TonyDP : (01 January 2017 - 05:00 PM) Dear God, the load times on Battlefront are interminable; and when you get into a match you get thrown against players who kill you with one shot before you even see them! Either that or you just time out and get booted from the game. I will never again criticize Destiny's matchmaking; it's a masterpiece compared to Star Wars Battlefront's frustration-fest.
@  SpaceInsomniac : (01 January 2017 - 07:43 PM) Happy New Year, everyone.  And yes, Battlefront is awful.  Play Titanfall 2, instead.  It's the best multiplayer game in years, IMO.  As far as Christmas goes, Santa brought me the 20th anniversary Tomb Raider game.  Not as good as Uncharted 4, but still quite good.
@  Goldenheart : (02 January 2017 - 04:11 AM) Happy New Year Space! & Everyone else! No, no good games for me. Investing in the wife's career has gotten super expensive lately, (doctor) so no gifts. :( We did splurge on a trip to see her brother in NY for New Year's tho. We avoided Times Square tho.
@  colonel_j2020 : (02 January 2017 - 08:27 AM) Happy New Year all! Somehow I am still playing Rocket League and I'm not quite sure why.
@  kyle_5_16 : (03 January 2017 - 12:12 AM) Happy New Year! Rocket League is still pretty much all I play haha. It's so easy to pick up and quit quickly if necessary, and is fun and competitive. I dunno. Here's a recent vid (shameless self promotion lol) https://www.youtube....h?v=gFffvgwPRDM
@  d2_s : (22 January 2017 - 01:42 PM) Just a heads up, seems the moderator functions aren't working as expected and I cant get rid of the current round of spammers.

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!