Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  ermac666 : (22 December 2015 - 06:39 AM) I finally got bloodborne : the old hunters edition. Yes, I know that I am super late, but wow, i have to slap myself for not getting it earlier because I wasn't feeling it. Same with dark souls series. Now I want to try those games too!
@  Brandino : (23 December 2015 - 01:28 AM) So steam is changing how they do big sales... rather then flash sales and crazy price drops on certain days they are going for a more average price drop that spans the full week... this makes me sad
@  colonel_j2020 : (23 December 2015 - 06:09 PM) I am assuming there were enough complaints about people missing those sales as well as I think it is a lot of work to do that.  I guess this means there is no need to have a mass sale at the end with 95% of the sales again.
@  d2_s : (24 December 2015 - 05:47 PM) @ermac Better late than never. @B I agree, there was a certain feeling of excitment this time of year when it came to steam sales, sad it's all gone.
@  d2_s : (24 December 2015 - 05:49 PM) @Colonel There's always someone out there ruining good thing for other people.
@  d2_s : (24 December 2015 - 05:49 PM) @Everyone Merry Xmas and best wishes for 2016'
@  Goldenheart : (24 December 2015 - 11:00 PM) Thanks. You too d2. Merry Christmas everyone!
@  kyle_5_16 : (25 December 2015 - 12:42 AM) Merry Christmas!
@  colonel_j2020 : (26 December 2015 - 11:54 AM) Merry Christmas!!!!
@  SpaceInsomniac : (27 December 2015 - 03:56 AM) Saints Row 4 is a better Crackdown than Crackdown.  Everyone should buy it right now for $10 on PSN.  Best deal I've found in a long while.
@  Goldenheart : (27 December 2015 - 01:10 PM) Cool Space. SR4 on 360 was one of my Christmas gifts. Haven't gotten to it yet cuz I've been playing my other gifts.
@  HDTVadmin : (02 January 2016 - 03:01 PM) Looks like it is time to upgrade the board software.  Site might be a bit more wonky in a couple days.
@  SpaceInsomniac : (03 January 2016 - 04:43 PM) As always, thanks for everything you do for this community, Admin. :)
@  d2_s : (08 January 2016 - 11:55 AM) Jumped back on the Destiny hamster wheel after a 2+ plus month break. Found some nice people on xbox who were kind enough to let me do the heroic raid and oryx challenge with my 305 warlock. Given all the time I sunk in that game, it never felt right not having all the TTK achievements. Back to 100%...for now.
@  d2_s : (08 January 2016 - 11:56 AM) @Admin Looking Forward to the update.
@  Goldenheart : (14 January 2016 - 07:40 AM) I'm only half way through watching "Tucker and Dale vs evil" & I've already laughed as much & as hard as all of the 1st Austin Powers movie, so that's saying a lot! Sooo well written too.
@  SpaceInsomniac : (14 January 2016 - 06:08 PM) Yeah, that was a pretty good movie.  I believe I have Karmaslave to thank for suggesting that one to me.  On an unrelated note, don't download the latest Diablo III patch on consoles.  Apparently, it has some big issues.
@  HumpYourWayT... : (19 January 2016 - 07:59 AM) Hey Guys! The Diablo patch impacts the console performance - more here: http://www.eurogamer...ole-performance
@  SpaceInsomniac : (22 January 2016 - 09:51 AM) Arkham Knight is only $15 at Best Buy right now, and on the Xbox Marketplace, The Witcher 2 is FREE FOR EVERYONE.  Xbox One or 360, Gold membership or not, it doesn't matter.  Go get it!
@  d2_s : (22 January 2016 - 06:41 PM) Thanks for the heads up Space. Good for those who don't have the physical version or who missed out when it was free with GwG a while back.

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!