Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  d2_s : (06 June 2017 - 10:28 AM) @Ermac Tekken 7 is a very polished title, one of the best fighters available if not the best currently IMO. Speaking of polished titles I've been playing Wipeout Omega collection. It's simply sublime on PS4 Pro @2160p running at a rock solid 60fps.
@  TonyDP : (06 June 2017 - 05:30 PM) @d2_s, I've pretty much decided that I'm going to pass on Destiny 2; I really don't want to sink over a thousand hours into one game anymore and since picking up my PSVR "flat" games have become far less interesting.
@  d2_s : (07 June 2017 - 04:55 PM) I don't blame you. I'm already in, but unless it blows me away I wont be putting anywhere near the time I put into D1.
@  ermac666 : (13 June 2017 - 09:38 PM) Sony E3 presentaion is a mixed bag for me. The games shown are what I want, and I will definitely buy the games. The games are there, but the show itself was weak. They just showed slide after slide with no hype or presentation between them. Games/exclusives were great, but the energy wasn't there. My gripe is with the show itself, and not the games.
@  Brandino : (14 June 2017 - 01:16 AM) What's sad was Mario Odyssey graphically looks worse then Yooka Laylee...  Metroid Prime 4 is not being developed by Retro...
@  Brandino : (14 June 2017 - 01:17 AM) What's awesome was the South park video game looked hilarious and way over the top
@  TonyDP : (14 June 2017 - 08:37 PM) All the E3 presentations I saw were pretty blah. For me, Sony had the best games and their PSVR lineup was particularly impressive and showed a lot of potential. The XB1X disappointed me; it seems overpowered given the lack of 1st party titles and no VR support. I doubt much software will tap its full potential.
@  ermac666 : (17 June 2017 - 09:16 PM) I was watching a few vids on digital foundry's analysis on the XB1X. It seems that forza 7 was the only game that is native 4k, 60 fps. The rest shown at E3 like assassins creed origins are mostly checkerboard upscaled to 4K like the ps4 pro. I don't know if the XB1X is held back for parity with 3rd party games or if the XB1X is not powerful enough to handle 4K with no issues.
@  d2_s : (17 June 2017 - 10:00 PM) I read the same thing. I honestly never expected the majority of games to be native 4k anyway. It's a nicely balanced system with some nice grunt for a console, but it's no miracle box. I look forward to seeing how the XB1X and the Pro are used now that both major platforms have Faux K options devs will be supporting more.
@  TonyDP : (19 June 2017 - 07:10 PM) This is typical of 3rd party development though; they almost NEVER take full advantage of a specific platform's hardware. First party MS games like Forza will look the best, third party stuff like ACO will look comparable across all the platforms.
@  d2_s : (19 June 2017 - 10:16 PM) I'm in agreement with you Tony and I would hazzard a guess that Sony's own exclusives will be impressive enough that people wont be wishing they were on XB1X much like the X1's exclusives were technically as good as anything else.
@  ermac666 : (20 June 2017 - 06:37 AM) I am quite impressed with the ps4 exclusives like days gone where there are tons of zombies on screen, and the game still maintains the frame rate and graphical fidelity. It is also no typical shooter where you endlessly just shoot down zombies. You have to utilise the environments and stealth to play. Story looks to be good as well.
@  Brandino : (30 June 2017 - 01:36 AM) The SNES classic ....  only 20 somewhat games is a bit of a disappointment.   The urge to buy a raspberry pi with a snes case is much higher then dropping 100 on something with corded controllers and 20 games
@  SpaceInsomniac : (09 July 2017 - 04:44 AM) So Kyle / Direwolf: I just recently picked up Rocket League again after not playing since the first month or so.  Still great fun, but I was wondering if you could suggest any You Tube tutorials or anything for new-ish players.  Anything come to mind?
@  kyle_5_16 : (19 July 2017 - 10:56 AM) Honestly I don't really know of any tutorials online, I never really watched any, just played a LOT
@  kyle_5_16 : (19 July 2017 - 10:56 AM) The training in that game is great for building up your mechanics though
@  kyle_5_16 : (19 July 2017 - 10:57 AM) and people make and share all sorts of custom training scenarios too
@  kyle_5_16 : (19 July 2017 - 10:57 AM) after that it is learning the basics or teamplay (if you aren't doing solos) and overall team rotation, which I do know there are tutorials on, i'll see if I can find them
@  kyle_5_16 : (19 July 2017 - 11:09 AM) https://www.reddit.c...ositioning_and/
@  SpaceInsomniac : (20 July 2017 - 07:33 AM) Cool.  Thanks for the advice!

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!