Jump to content



Toggle shoutbox HDTV Arcade Shoutbox Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  colonel_j2020 : (07 March 2015 - 12:35 PM) I never had a wavebird.  I have 4 wires controllers.  Though I have only heard good things about the wavebird.
@  colonel_j2020 : (07 March 2015 - 12:35 PM) *wired
@  TonyDP : (11 March 2015 - 07:06 PM) Picked up a Chromebox today as I needed a computer to do mainly web activities and was tired of having to constantly update Windows and virus defs. Loving it so far; using it right now and HDTVArcade loads up just fine
@  d2_s : (13 March 2015 - 05:30 AM) Nice one Tony. BTW - i haven't seen you in a while on Destiny, feel free to hit me up any time :)
@  SpaceInsomniac : (13 March 2015 - 04:46 PM) Speaking of which, I'll be on PS4 tonight if you want to farm coins so you buy Red Death, d2.  It's a darn good weapon.
@  d2_s : (13 March 2015 - 05:20 PM) Ta, not sure if/when i'll be on, but i'm only 1 coin short so it wont take too long. It was one of only 3 exotics i didn't have on xbox. Now i'm only missing Suros and the Necrochasm. On PSN any exotic will do at this point...except the No Land Beyond. #%^# that gun :D
@  TonyDP : (13 March 2015 - 05:21 PM) Hey D2, I was just about to post a shout saying the same thing. I'm doing a few errands right now but may be on later and hopefully over the weekend as well. Will look for you.
@  d2_s : (13 March 2015 - 05:24 PM) I'll keep an eye out for you too Tony. It's been a while.
@  d2_s : (14 March 2015 - 02:25 AM) Actually, I told a lie. I need three exotic weapons on Xbox Destiny: Suros, Hardlight and Neceochasm. The only one worth a damn out of them is the Suros, the others are just to complete the collection :D
@  ermac666 : (14 March 2015 - 05:20 AM) Resident evil revelations 2 is awesome. You guys should check out the 1st 3 episodes. Final episodes will come out the this coming week.Download away guys. It's for all current gen and last gen consoles and PC.
@  ermac666 : (14 March 2015 - 05:20 AM) *episode
@  KaliniuS : (14 March 2015 - 05:09 PM) I'm pretty excited about Rock Band 4 coming to current consoles, plus the fact that all my old DLC songs that I bought will transfer. I still play RB3 semi-regularly
@  Brandino : (16 March 2015 - 05:35 PM) I miss Rock Band... however I love not having giant plastic instruments sitting around my tv!
@  KaliniuS : (18 March 2015 - 10:00 AM) That's what closets are for lol
@  TonyDP : (18 March 2015 - 07:44 PM) Hey D2, have you been on the Xbox One lately? Haven't seen you in a while. Did the Level 30 Heroic (Omnigul) with my Warlock tonight. What a grind.
@  KaliniuS : (22 March 2015 - 06:27 PM) The achievements for the final Trials Fusion DLC are up on Xbox.com and Xbox Live. This means we'll likely see the DLC available for purchase on Tuesday/ Wednesday.
@  SpaceInsomniac : (23 March 2015 - 06:38 PM) Is there actual mutltiplayer yet, or just that supercross crap?
@  SpaceInsomniac : (24 March 2015 - 03:34 AM) Gearbox just posted codes for 25 golden keys in each of the two games included with Borderlands: The Handsome Jack collection.
@  d2_s : (24 March 2015 - 11:33 PM) @Tony I have been around, but I haven't seen you either. This weeks nightfall should be a cakewalk for us so we should do it for sure this time. Shoot me a text message when you're on to get my attention if need be. I'll look out for you.
@  SpaceInsomniac : (28 March 2015 - 01:35 PM) I'm going to be playing Borderlands for a long time, but I just picked up Ruin Wings and got Don't Touch Me gloves from an exotic engram for when I return to Destiny.

- - - - -

How to enable progressive scan on the Gamecube


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 HDTVadmin

HDTVadmin

    The one and only...

  • Administrator
  • 3,367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Interests:HDTV Gaming !! Movies, Computers, Fishing.

Posted 07 March 2005 - 02:34 AM

First you must have a Gamecube hooked up with component cables to an HDTV.  The Gamecube component cables can be purchased directly from nintendo.com.

Check the list to make sure you are using a game that supports 480p.

While booting up a game, hold down "B".  You will get a prompt asking if you would like to enable progressive scan.  This should only have to be done once.

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

#2 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 08:38 PM

Ok, I've tried this with my new nintendo brand component cables, and can't get it to work. :-(

We still have to use the other cables as well right? I mean, it's the only way to get sound!

I have everything hooked up correctly, but I can't see a picture at all!!! What's up?

#3 Gigas

Gigas

    Member

  • Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:10 PM

Yes, you have to have both sets plugged in to get sound.

Are you sure you've got your gamecube plugged into the correct inputs on your TV? And is it a progressive scan game? Assuming you are in the right inputs, if your screen is all distorted, turn the machine off, then back on. Right away press the B button. In a couple seconds the picture should be back to normal, and it'll ask you if you want to enable progressive scan.

#4 Admiral

Admiral

    Member

  • Members
  • 379 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

AHA!!! Got it to work. Weird, All I had to do was change the input selected on the TV, and then go back to the GC input, and it was fine. Looks great!

thanks for the help yall

#5 Nick Laslett

Nick Laslett

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 18 April 2005 - 07:50 AM

Quote

Newer model Gamecubes lack the port to use component cables.

"The Digital A/V Output port was removed from systems produced after May, 2004 (these systems will have a model number of DOL-101). If you have a Nintendo GameCube without this port, and you wish to play your games in progressive scan, please call our Consumer Service department at 1-800-255-3700, to discuss available options."

If you call this number they offer you a refurbished GC. There is no way to get a new unit that has the port.

#6 PsyEd

PsyEd

    Member

  • Members
  • 618 posts

Posted 19 April 2005 - 09:09 AM

Also something different - if you hold down Z and then boot your GC then you'll hear different music.

And PAL GC can have progressive scan turned on for NTSC games via Freeloader.

#7 Vegeta

Vegeta

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

I managed to snap up a brand new platinum GC with the digital av out port (dol-001) from eBay :)

Cost £50 and came with a sealed Mario Kart Double Dash :lol:

#8 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2005 - 03:43 AM

I got the same package myself from a local shop for 47£. They also had a bundle with silver GC + Wind Waker + Zelda collector's edition (Ocarina, Majora and Zelda 1+2) for the same price. Of course those were sold out in no time.

#9 Patvs

Patvs

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:12 AM

Can anyone confirm the following two statements:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

#10 Jmog

Jmog

    Whipmaster Extraordinaire

  • Moderator
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 03 June 2005 - 01:17 PM

Patvs said:

-If your PAL Cube has the digital A/V output and you use a component cable you'll get [great looking] 480i.

You'll get 480i in NTSC games running via Freeloader and 576i in PAL games, yes. It won't be "great looking" - not compared to progressive anyway. Compared to composite it will look very good and slightly better than s-video. It will be pretty much identical to RGB-scart.

Quote

-However no PAL games support progressive scan, so if you want 480p you need to import the NTSC version and play them with freeloader.

No PAL games support progressive on a PAL cube. Some of them do when you run them on a NTSC cube using freeloader. How many, I don't know.
NTSC games + freeloader will give you 480p on your PAL cube if the games support it.

#11 Trippe2k

Trippe2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 15 October 2006 - 01:15 AM

Just curious i have the component cables and every time i start up my gamecube ( WITHOUT holding down the B button) it asks me if i want to go into progressive scan. I have yet to hold down the button once and yet all the games still promt me with the option. By no means am i complaining or worried, i am just curious is this common? or am i lucky?

#12 d2_s

d2_s

    Thunder From Down Under

  • Moderator
  • 22,357 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 October 2006 - 08:08 AM

It usually does it if you have done it at least once ... after that it will auto prompt almost every time.
Posted Image

#13 alkumuc

alkumuc

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

:mad:  Newbie question  :cool:

So I read all night long how to get my consoles ready to display the best picture quality on my NEC VT540  ( http://selfemploymen...MANUAL32259.pdf )

As far as I know most Pal GC Games dont support Digital out signal! But if i use the qoob mod chip than i can force to right?
Can i force other resolution 480p too?

My projector cant display 480p anyway but probably a vga digital output would be
1) progressive anyway doesnt matter which resolution
2) be much more sharper and brighter than video chinch right?

so can i use a vga cable to use vga resolution or does the gc just support 480p at compisite?

Correct me if i am wrong that my profector cant display 480p and please tell me if there is a way to get a much better picture quality than with the poor yellow chinch video ^^
thx 4 help
alku




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Change Theme!